Log in
HFES Awardees Recognized for Excellence During 2016 International Annual Meeting

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Each year, the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society honors individuals or teams for superior accomplishments in a range of areas. The following 2016 recipients were announced on September 20 in Washington, DC.

HFES President William S. Marras presented the 2016 Arnold M. Small President’s Distinguished Service Award to Donald A. Norman, Design Lab, University of California, San Diego. Norman is a champion of human-centered design and has made the principles and values of the HF/E field accessible to the general public, for example, through his well-known book The Psychology of Everyday Things.

Gunnar Johannsen, University of Kassel, Germany, received the Hal W. Hendrick Distinguished International Colleague Award for outstanding contributions to the human factors/ergonomics field. A leading figure in human-machine systems in Europe, Johanssen has made pioneering contributions to the mathematical modeling of human behavior and performance in manual control tasks and supervisory control.

The 2016 Paul M. Fitts Education Award was presented to Francis T. Durso, Georgia Institute of Technology, to recognize his exceptional contributions to the education and training of HF/E specialists. Durso has influenced students through all aspects of his academic career, including directly training students and serving as mentor to many other students and young faculty members.

Richard P. Compton, Office of Behavioral Safety Research, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, received the A. R. Lauer Safety Award in recognition of his critical work to improve safety on the nation’s roads for all users. Compton’s efforts to improve safety have been recognized nationally and internationally by such organizations as the World Health Organization and the National Safety Council. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to human factors aspects in roadway safety, leading to reduced accidents and injuries.

The Oliver Keith Hansen Outreach Award was presented to Linda C. Williams, National Center for Patient Safety, Veterans Health Administration. Williams has collaboratively initiated the development of the Advanced Patient Safety Fellowship, a national interdisciplinary patient safety program within the VA that fosters an environment in which human factors engineers, health care clinicians, and other professionals collaborate to share expertise and design safer systems. As a leader in this and other national training initiatives for more than a decade, Linda has exposed thousands of clinicians to human factors techniques that support the safer design of healthcare systems. Within the VA, she has created an environment that fosters the development of long-term relationship between HF/E practitioners and clinicians. Her efforts have resulted in both individual and organizational transformation in metacognition and approach to design.

Susan E. Kotowski, University of Cincinnati, received the William C. Howell Young Investigator Award for demonstrating outstanding contributions to HFES through professional scientific contributions. In a very short time, Kotowski has accrued an impressive publication record, as principal or coauthor of 37 peer-reviewed journal articles. She has been principal or co-investigator on 11 research grants or contracts generating approximately $2.4 million in external funding. She is also the recipient of the College of Allied Health Science Excellence in Research award and has developed and delivered 12 professional development courses.

Richard J. Holden, Indiana University, is this year’s recipient of the Bentzi Karsh Early-Career Service Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to HFES through professional service and outreach activities as a student and early-career professional. Holden has tirelessly advocated for and represented HF/E in his professional and community roles and has made major HF/E outreach contributions through leadership and consultancy roles in ambitious national projects to transform health care, including a $200 million initiative to improve U.S. health care through the Peterson Center on Healthcare.

The Alphonse Chapanis Student Paper Award, recognizing excellence in Annual Meeting papers, was presented to Timothy J. Neville, Paul M. Salmon, and Gemma J. M. Read, Centre for Human Factors and Sociotechnical Systems, University of the Sunshine Coast, for “Towards a Model for Measuring Teamwork in Australian Rules Football Officials.” Neville was one of three finalists selected out of 49 submissions for the 2016 award.

Jerome H. Ely Human Factors Article Award for the best paper published in the previous year's volume went to David L. Strayer, Jonna Turrill, Joel M. Cooper, James R. Coleman, Nathan Medeiros-Ward, and Francesco Biondi for "Assessing Cognitive Distraction in the Automobile." The paper proposes and validates a scale for measuring cognitive distraction. Although the scale is intended to measure driver distraction, it also provides a model for how researchers can develop measures of cognitive distraction in other domains, such as rail, aviation, and health care.

Kermit G. Davis and Susan E. Kotowski received the Best Ergonomics in Design Article Award, for "Stand Up and Move: Your Musculoskeletal Health Depends on It." The article is a literature review covering the value of various alternatives to conventional office seating for preventing musculoskeletal disorders. It provides succinct summaries of the research that has been done with the various alternatives along with concrete “take-home messages.”

The 2016 Best Journal of Cognitive Engineering and Decision Making Article Award was presented to Sathya S. Silva and R. John Hansman for "Divergence Between Flight-Crew Mental Model and Aircraft System State in Auto-Throttle Mode Confusion Accident and Incident Cases." The article demonstrates an innovative means for capturing mismatches between a person’s understanding of an immediate situation and reality. The value of this method is applied to aviation safety but is also relevant to a wide range of domains in which erroneous beliefs can have serious consequences.

The 2016 Human Factors Prize Recognizing Excellence in Human Factors/Ergonomics Research went to Andrew Hampton and Valerie L. Shalin for "Lexical Choice as a Measure of Urgency in Social Media." This year's topic was big data/analytics.

‚ÄčThe Human Factors and Ergonomics Society is the world’s largest scientific association for human factors/ergonomics professionals, with more than 4,500 members globally. HFES members include psychologists and other scientists, designers, and engineers, all of whom have a common interest in designing systems and equipment to be safe and effective for the people who operate and maintain them. “Human Factors and Ergonomics: People-Friendly Design Through Science and Engineering.”