Log in
HFES Honors New Fellows and 2018 Award Winners at 62nd Annual Meeting

Monday, October 15, 2018


On Tuesday, October 2, at the opening plenary of its 2018 Annual Meeting, the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society recognized a number of individuals for distinguished contributions to HFES and to the human factors/ergonomics profession.
Four individuals were recognized as Fellows. Election to Fellow status is an honor conferred by distinguished colleagues to full members of the Society in recognition of outstanding achievement, consistently superior professional performance, exceptional contributions, service to the Society, and other meritorious accomplishments.

  • Caroline Cao, Wright State University

  • Sean Gallagher, Auburn University

  • Barry Goettl, Air Force Research Laboratory

  • Philip Kortum, Rice University

The Society also congratulated the following winners of HFES Awards:
Arnold M. Small President’s Distinguished Service Award
Deborah Boehm-Davis, Facebook Reality Labs. This award recognizes individuals whose career-long contributions have brought honor to the profession and the Society. Prior to joining Facebook Reality Labs, Boehm-Davis spent 23 years at George Mason University, serving as a professor, Psychology Department chair, vice provost for research and graduate studies, and dean of the College of Humanities and Social Science. She has won a number of research grants, coauthored books and journal articles, and made presentations to a variety of audiences. She has assumed leadership positions in both the American Psychological Association and HFES, serving as HFES President from 1993 to 1994. Recently she headed the search committee to find an association management company to manage HFES operations.
Hal W. Hendrick Distinguished International Colleague Award
Errol Hoffmann, Department at University of Melbourne, Australia. This award honors a non-U.S. citizen for distinguished contributions to the HF/E field. Hoffmann pioneered research in modeling human motor control and for later work on control display compatibility and motor vehicle safety.
Paul M. Fitts Education Award
Robert Proctor, Purdue University. This award recognizes a person for exceptional contributions to the education and training of human factors specialists. Proctor has been the major adviser to more than 30 PhD students, with 5 earning early-career awards. He has served on 180 thesis committees and has influenced students whom he did not directly mentor through his textbooks.
Jack A. Kraft Innovator Award
Valerie J. Berg Rice, Army Research Center. This award recognizes a person for extending the discipline of human factors into new areas of endeavor. Rice has spent her entire career helping HF/E move into new domains of practice. Her work with the Army has been (and is) ahead of the times, forward-looking, unprecedented, and often unconventional within the field of HF/E.
A. R. Lauer Safety Award
Michael Wiklund, Human Factors Research and Design, Life and Health Sciences, UL. This award recognizes a person for contributions to the broad area of safety. Wiklund has worked for over three decades, enhancing safety in nuclear power, consumer products, and medical devices. His seminal work has been critical to developing standards in medical devices design and testing them.
Oliver Keith Hansen Outreach Award
Anthony D. Andre, Interface Analysis Associates. This award recognizes an individual for significant activities that broaden awareness of the existence of the HF/E profession and the benefits it brings to humankind. Andre has made broad contributions to the field. His outreach with ErgoX and the International Symposium on Human Factors and Ergonomics in Health Care are only two examples of Andre’s outreach to industry and of his passion in spreading the word about HF/E.
William C. Howell Young Investigator Award
Matthew Bolton, University at Buffalo, the State University of New York. This award recognizes a person for demonstrating outstanding contributions to HFES through professional scientific contributions as a young investigator. Bolton is a successful, innovative, and committed scholar whose research on the use of modeling to evaluate human-automation interaction has the potential to profoundly impact the way in which human interactive systems are designed.
Bentzi Karsh Early Career Service Award
Rupa Valdez, University of Virginia. This award recognizes a person for demonstrating outstanding contributions to HFES through professional service and outreach activities as a student and early career professional. Valdez has demonstrated amazing commitment to HFES and to outreach while also making extraordinary contributions to research and teaching.
Alexander C. Williams, Jr., Design Award
Ila Elson, Abbott Laboratories. This award recognizes outstanding human factors contributions to the design of an operational system. Elson is subject matter expert in human factors principles and methodologies, especially regarding their application to the development of products in the highly regulated medical device industry. Throughout her career, Elson has applied psychological principles and human factors data and methods to the design of products and programs across different industries.
HFES also presented five journal awards on October 2 in Philadelphia:
Alphonse Chapanis Student Paper Award
David Azari, Brady Miller, Brian Le, Jacob Greenberg, Caprice Greenberg, Carla Pugh, Yu Hen Hu and Robert Radwin for “Can Surgical Performance for Varying Experience Be Measured From Hand Motions?” This paper was one of the three finalist papers presented before the judging committee in Philadelphia.
Jerome H. Ely Human Factors Article Award
Joachim Meyer and Thomas Sheridan for “The Intricacies of User Adjustments of Alerting Thresholds.”
Best Ergonomics in Design Article Award
Fiona F. Tran, Antony Hilliard, and Greg Jamieson for “Keeping the Lights On Across the Continent.”
Best Journal of Cognitive Engineering and Decision Making Article Award
Katherine Hamilton, Vincent Mancuso, Susan Mohammed, Rachel Tesler, and Michael McNeese for “Skilled and Unaware: The Interactive Effects of Team Cognition, Team Metacognition, and Task Confidence on Team Performance.”
Human Factors Prize, Recognizing Excellence in Human Factors/Ergonomics Research
Adam Braly, Benjamin Nuernberger, and So Young Kim for their paper, “Augmented Reality Improves Procedural Work on an International Space Station Science Instrument.”


The Human Factors and Ergonomics Society is the world’s largest scientific association for human factors/ergonomics professionals, with more than 4,500 members globally. HFES members include psychologists and other scientists, designers, and engineers, all of whom have a common interest in designing systems and equipment to be safe and effective for the people who operate and maintain them. “Human Factors and Ergonomics: People-Friendly Design Through Science and Engineering.”